A question of...cadence?!

Pedro77
Pedro77 Posts: 59
edited April 2014 in Road beginners
Hi all, I am a bit new to all this cycling malarkey. I always had a lower cadence, averaging 62rpm most times.

Today I decided to experiment and improve my cadence. It does take a different mental approach has I had to prevent myself from using heavier gears. I aimed to cycle at a 80+RPM whenever possible, here are my results:
1- Felt easier with changes of gradient keeping up the cadence instead of mashing on heavy gears
2- No pain or any discomfort on knees, etc
3- I was actually quicker compared to other times I have done this lap
4- Burnt more calories (regardless off accuracy, values between rides are comparable)
5- Averaged 77 RPM instead of 62
6- Better average speed and top speed
7- for each tooth I changed up in the cassette I noticed a immediate drop of 5RPM
8- when changing between 34 to 50 front sprocket a drop of RPM of about 20 occurred

With this in mind I worked in perfecting the gear changes to keep that cadence steady, it meant sometimes building up RPM on the smaller front sprocket to say 95+ before changing to the 50T at times.

All in all it just felt a much better ride. I had to use the bigger sprockets and the smaller sprocket in the front much more than before but I think it works better for me. My goal is to bring my average cadence on the same lap to 85+ and with time to run heavier gears at that cadence. My cassette is 25-11 10-speed and I run a compact 50-34. I don't feel the need to change any of the gears but I suppose with a 28-12 It would be easier to keep higher cadence climbing. I will keep mine and work on the engine!! :)

Any info about cadence would help, am it doing the right thing? What is your experience and please comment on the above, I am here to learn.

Thanks
Pedro

Comments

• StillGoing
    StillGoing Posts: 5,211