Bike needs help

stephaniedragotta
edited April 2014 in Road beginners
I'm very new to biking and I just signed up for a run/bike/run race in three weeks. I was given a Fuji Allegro bike. Ive ridden it a few times. Gears shift, but they are very clicky and not consistent. Brakes seem okay. The chain is very rusty and the tires are worn. I'm definitely going to get new tires but what else should i do prior to my race? I dont want to spend a lot of money and if possible id like to "DIY". I do plan on riding the bike weekly but for only like 30 minutes at a time. I don't need anything fancy, just want to get in the exercise. Should I replace the chain? The gears? The brakes? any advice would be great because I don't know anything about the maintenance of a bike.

Comments

• BobScarle
    BobScarle Posts: 282
    The bike looks quite old and because you say the chain is rusty, it has probably stood for a while. You will need to get new tyres and tubes as they could well have perished. I would certainly get a new chain. After fitting you can then look at the gears. I would not touch them until the chain is sorted.
  • And if it has stood for a long time the cables are probably equally rusty so the gears & brakes won't be so easy to sort out. Probably.
  • Moonbiker
    Moonbiker Posts: 1,706
    Looks like is in good condition flat pedals reflectors & dork disc, so maybe chain & cables will be ok as suggest pervious owner did a low milage maybe?

Rust can be cleaned off a chain unless its really bad.

How to check the chain needs replacing:

http://sheldonbrown.com/chains.html

See the Measuring Chain Wear bit.

Looks like a decent bike what groupset & gearing does it have?

(U can count the teeth or it might say on the rings)
  • Moonbiker
    Moonbiker Posts: 1,706
    Oh if you buy new tyres check if it needs 700c or 27 inch wheel size ones
  • iron-clover
    iron-clover Posts: 737