Computers: Cadence & Power

Sea.Jocky
Sea.Jocky Posts: 11
edited April 2014 in Road beginners
Hi All,

I am new to all of this with receiving my bike only a few weeks ago, but am still stuck on which computer to get!

I am on a budget and would not like to spend heinous amounts, preferably sub £100. I am after a decent wireless computer with cadence and with power, hr is not essential.

I have so far found the CatEye stealth with Ant technology but is priced at £89 but then the Ant 'add ons' are an extra £49.

Is there something else out there that can give me wireless speed cadence and power cheaper?

Thanks

Comments

• Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    To get a Power Output reading you'll need either a special hub, pedals or cranks - any of which will cost £700+ All the computers offer is the means to display the data sent from a power measuring device.
    Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..
  • Sprool
    Sprool Posts: 1,022
    as a newcomer you can spend £30 on a wired bontrager trip 3 computer and get cadence, speed, temperature, time.
  • Sea.Jocky
    Sea.Jocky Posts: 11
    Thanks but i do actually want Cadence and some form of Power, i know about the extremely expensive power devices using strain guages on the cranks etc, but the ANT technology looked good to me, at least it will tell me some form of power even if it is not directly true to your power actual power output and uses other measuring techniques to help. Anything else out there?
  • marcusjb
    marcusjb Posts: 2,412
    ANT is just the wireless protocol for devices like power meters, heart rate monitors etc. to transmit data to a head end unit (the computer).

As others have said, you would then need a power meter (in the crankset, rear hub or pedals) - and that is where things get into the big bucks.

I don't know the cateye unit, but just because it has ant doesn't mean it will display power without a meter.
  • marcusjb