Left - Right bias

Schoie81
Schoie81 Posts: 749
edited April 2014 in Road beginners
Hi,

I seem to favour my right hand side (i am right handed), not it terms of pedalling (although I probably do) but in terms of balance. To be honest, my balance on the bike isn't the best (any tips on how to improve it would be greatly appreciated?) and it leaves me a little short of confidence, especially when cornering. I've decided to try and improve my cornering as I've recently ended up following cyclists in my car when its been too narrow to pass safely and found myself watching how they were doing it. Left hand corners I don't worry too much about, right foot at the bottom, left foot at the top feels natural, but on right hand corners with my left foot down low and my right foot at the top I feel nervous and end up slowing right down for them. I'm ultimately looking to be more confident on the bike and improve my descending - I'm no expert climber, but I'd rather go uphill than downhill! I'm upgrading my brakes which will hopefully give me more confidence that they'll stop me when I need them to, so hoping that will help too.

Is this feeling normal or am I just weird? And does anyone know how I can stop it!?!
"I look pretty young, but I'm just back-dated"

Comments

• jds_1981
    jds_1981 Posts: 1,858
    Practise is probably your only option. Not road, but on pump tracks I'm better at turning right than left (I'm left handed.)
    I think it's just one of those things, like goofy,regular stnace in skateboarding. You've got a natural preference.
    FCN 9 || FCN 5
  • larkim
    larkim Posts: 2,485
    I'm glad its not just me! I find the left foot down / right foot up for a right hander feels unnatural, though by the same token trail braking (slight braking whilst going through the corner) whilst turning right feels easier as it is left hand pulling the lever.