Advice for a complete beginner

joannesmith2818
joannesmith2818 Posts: 26
edited April 2014 in Road beginners
Hi,
I went to centre parcs last week and rented a bike out....I loved it. I always used to have a banged up old mountain bike which I used pretty much every day. My dad and my other half are very much into road biking, and the pop spends thousands on them. So after consulting with the “experts” as they like to think themselves, I decided I would get a road bike, as I will only ever be cycling on roads.
So after a while trying to find a second hand one and the dad and bf saying that’s **** and that’s **** I have given up and got a new one without their help, because anything under a grand to them is rubbish so what’s the point in asking ^.-. Small frames for teeny people don’t come up all that often so second hand just went out the window. So as I had a very small budget I got a cheap road bike for £250 from Halfords. Hate the fact I had to go for the women’s ones...but it was the only one I could get on. They built several bike up for me to try...because I am super awkward.
http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stor ... yId_165710
So now I have a bike...well I will do tomorrow.
Where do I start? I am moderately fit. I spend time doing cardio and lift weights. Should I start off with some short rides? Maybe around some less busy areas so I can get used to the feel? I have to say I’m fairly nervous, though I am not sure why given that I can ride a bike perfectly well. I have had a go on a road bike before, but the one I tried was far too large so not very stable.
Also equipment wise...all I have is a helmet and a lock. Is there anything else I might need? I will be going biking with the other half and he carry’s all the stuff like pump and puncture kit.
I am quite a competitive person and like to give things my all, so any tips on how to advance with this would be great, or even any books that explain it all well!
Thanks

Comments

• markhewitt1978