New on forums and new to MTB

sabretalon
sabretalon Posts: 24
edited April 2014 in MTB beginners
Hi all, I am new to both the forums and mountain biking.

Recently just bought my daughter her new MTB a Cube Access WLS and whilst there decided to get a bike for me so bought the Cube AIM SL 29.

We have been out on them and have found we are getting a bit of a bug for it.

There are a few things that we want to make sure we have right. I wanted to book a course for us both that will take us through basic maintenance skills. Some of this is mainly so my daughter is able to change a tyre/inner tube or repair a puncture etc... without having to get me to do it all the time, as I work away from home a lot.

I want to get a half decent bike stand for use at home for some repairs or maintenance, so advice on which is best.

I have put a simple pack together for under her seat, that includes 1 spare tube, multi tool, puncture repair kit and tyre levers. Is there anything else that you would consider essential?

Thanks in advance for any advice given

Comments

• Zip ties always come in handy, as does pliers to straighten stuff if your multi-tool doesn't come equipped. Perhaps a basic first aid kit for crashes/spills, though might be best to carry first aid kit in a rucksack with a hydration pack if you don't have a water bottle already on the bike. Water always helps wash stuff out in the event someone cuts themselves. Insulating tape may again come in handy in a bind, you sometimes have to get creative whilst out and about.
  • Agree with the zip ties.
    I never bother with a puncture repair kit - would rather take 2 inner tubes. Quicker and easier if you get caught in the rain, or if the puncture is near the valve.
    (You didn't mention a pump or Co2 inflator - i'm assuming that it's attached to the frame along with a water bottle.)

I always carry a flapjack/energy bar and a couple of quid too. Just in case you run out of energy before you get home.