Should I upgrade wheels?

kasattack
kasattack Posts: 18
edited April 2014 in Road buying advice
Hi everyone,

I've been riding my Boardman Road Comp since June 2013 and after researching the best things to upgrade on a road bike I've been looking at a Campagnolo Zonda wheelset (http://www.wiggle.co.uk/campagnolo-zonda-clincher-wheelset/) to upgrade the Mavic CXP22 rim wheels that came as stock with the bike.

According to a spec list online the Road Comp's front wheel weighs 1184g and the rear 1754g and the Campagnolo Zonda set weighs 1550g altogether.

Do you think this is a worthwhile upgrade or would it be better value for money to upgrade something else such as the tyres?

Thanks in advance

Comments

• chippyk
    chippyk Posts: 529
    I've got Zondas on my Bianchi, can't fault them, certainly a huge leap over the stock wheels.
  • kasattack
    ChippyK wrote:
    I've got Zondas on my Bianchi, can't fault them, certainly a huge leap over the stock wheels.
    That's great to hear, thanks. In terms of performance how much of a difference did you notice? I normally average between 17 and 19, sometimes 20mph depending on the length of the ride and the weather conditions - any idea whether the Zondas would increase my average speed by any amount?
  • bikemanspen
    bikemanspen Posts: 101
    Where have you been riding? Any hills? They are quite fast averages in my eyes also what sort of distances? Better lighter wheels will help but you need to be more specific!
    Cube agree pro 2013
    Trek fuel ex8 2009 (rootbeer)
  • kasattack
    Where have you been riding? Any hills? They are quite fast averages in my eyes also what sort of distances? Better lighter wheels will help but you need to be more specific!
    Over rides of about 40 miles I average around 17mph with around 1600ft elevation gain according to strava and over short quick rides I average just under 20mph over 12 miles for example and 18 to 18.5mph over rides more like 20-23 miles long.