Best Value Touring GPS

TFC1
TFC1 Posts: 62
edited March 2014 in Road buying advice
I am looking to buy a GPS for a five day ride across Spain / Portugal. The route will be available to download prior to us heading off so something with decetn euro mapping capability would be best.

Prefer to spend sub £200 if possible. Any suggestions on what to go for?

thanks

Comments

• Tiberius007
    Tiberius007 Posts: 195
    I don't know about touring - but I just bought the Garmin 800 performance bundle on Amazon for about £234, HR/Cadence included, and maps can be added. Slightly over your price (sorry). I have been reviewing for about 6 months and it got good reviews in the main hence I took the plunge.

I think its great.
  • desweller
    desweller Posts: 5,175
    I've got a eTrex 30 - battery life is great and uses conventional AAs, fairly easy to use, very robust (handles being thrown down the road quite happily); don't know what the European map options are though.
    - - - - - - - - - -
    On Strava.{/url}
  • freezing77
    freezing77 Posts: 731
    TFC1 wrote:
    I am looking to buy a GPS for a five day ride across Spain / Portugal. The route will be available to download prior to us heading off so something with decetn euro mapping capability would be best.

Prefer to spend sub £200 if possible. Any suggestions on what to go for?

thanks

Etrex 20 or Dakota 20 with openstreetmap.

http://www.handtec.co.uk/garmin-etrex-20-010-00970-10.html

Garmin_Etrex_20_M_1.jpg

Maps here http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl/

Choose generic routable, choose enable manual tile selection, from the europe dropdown choose spain then add portugal by clicking on the relevant tiles.
  • rolf_f
    rolf_f Posts: 16,015
    oxoman wrote:
    You could try looking at Garmin Touring or Touring Plus they come with mapping not sure if they cover the areas you wanted, but worth looking at in my opinion.