Question about gears - dont be too technical with me

nuggiebok
nuggiebok Posts: 63
edited March 2014 in Road beginners
I've just posted about how to sit on a bike. I'm fairly new to this and like to analyse everything it would appear. Having just read this post before submitting it I realise I sound quite dumb. It's 2am and I'm up with a poorly baby so please forgive me, my brain isn't working properly!

Anyway after a few months of getting out there and riding, I've noticed that I spend a lot of time in a certain range of gears. If I am honest I am still learning what way to click the levers and i have been trying to watch what happens to the chain when i change gears but still cant grasp it!

i have heard it is bad to ride at the extremes of the gear range due to chain stretching, but i often find that I spend most of my time with the front gear on the largest cog (outside) and the rear on the largest three or four (inside) ( so the chain is stretched?). When I get tired I drop down to the smallest gear at the front but then find I am using the smallest three or four cogs at the back. And I don't stay in this gear for long...I've been trying to think of my chain and use the gears better but can't maintain cadence in any other gear but the ones I am using.

I ride a giant avail 2 (2013), I know you more knowledgable people will convert that into ratios and be able to advise me?

Comments

• andrewjoseph
    andrewjoseph Posts: 2,165
    When using the extreme gears, (small-small, big-big), the chain isn't stretched as such but more angled. The greater this angle the more friction is experienced in the chain. In big-big there is a chance the rear mech can break if the chain is too short. In small-small the chain may catch on the teeth of the outer ring, or just be too loose to be safe, especially going over a bump.

Try to keep the chain line as straight as possible if you can. Coming close to the extremes is ok for short periods.