garmin edge 800 european route map help please

bob150
bob150 Posts: 10
edited March 2014 in Tour & expedition
hi all .im planning a cycling trip starting in brussels passing through germany and holland i have a garmin edge 800 with uk os maps and base maps both of whitch useless for europe i have been told open street map will be good and have requested the maps i need but i dont know any one who has used them .can any one tell me if the routing is good and will put me on cycle paths and quiet roads when available . the only other option i know off is loading my route from google maps .both of whitch i have no experience in using so some help/advice would be very usefull :D .many thanks bob

Comments

• wongataa
    wongataa Posts: 1,001
    I would get the maps you are thinking of using and try them out in this country around where you normally ride. That way you can see what the routing is like easily.
  • mjcaskey
    mjcaskey Posts: 94
    Hi
    I have a Garmin 800 and it came with a mini SD card with all UK and Road mapping on it. There are various different purchase bundles such as this. I suggest you go onto the Garmin website and purchase the SD card for city/European mapping and your unit will be set to go. I am doing some European touring this year and use the unit regularly in the UK. Just be aware that some of the mapping/route planning options such as strava do not always offer the turn by turn directions, just the coloured line on the map that leads the way en route. This in most instances is just fine. It only matters if you want to have the Speed/cadence or HR screens on as you cycle along because the turn by turn instructions come up automatically with the screen switching a the right time if your route is configured that way. There is no point in my view trying to manage with the OS mapping for a road tour.
    Hope this helps.