Campagnolo, taking the plunge!!

neilr4
neilr4 Posts: 161
edited March 2014 in Road buying advice
Been riding on Dura ace since I started riding in 1989, always found it easy to use and never had any issues with quality/reliability.

Going to build a new bike this year and strongly thinking of crossing to the campagnolo camp.

From research I've more or less settled on Chorus seeing it's rated at similar quality/price as Dura ace though of course any other suggestions are more than welcome.

Neil.
'REMEMBER SOME PEOPLE ARE ALIVE
SIMPLY BECAUSE IT IS ILLEGAL TO SHOOT THEM'

Comments

• northpole
    northpole Posts: 1,499
    Couple of things to consider (you probably already have!).

1. Are you keeping your existing bike with DA groupo?

2. Have you any experience using Campy shifters?

Re first point, I ended up with a DA equipped bike for commuting and a SR groupo on my best bike. They both work great but occasionally I mix the two shift systems up! The other aspect is spares - different brake blocks, cassettes and chains adds complication where it could have been avoided sticking to one make.

Re second point, if you haven't, it would be ideal to have a decent ride or two on a Campy fitted bike to confirm to yourself that you like the lever action and use of a thumb shift.

If you are still set on Campy (I happen to prefer the shift action) I would suggest that Record is the comparator of DA. I have super record on my best bike but my next bike build will have record - I just don't believe that the additional premium is warranted to save a few grammes.

Peter
  • ugo.santalucia
    ugo.santalucia Posts: 28,310
    northpole wrote:

Re second point, if you haven't, it would be ideal to have a decent ride or two on a Campy fitted bike to confirm to yourself that you like the lever action and use of a thumb shift.