Decent disc brake frameset for self build

fatdaz
fatdaz Posts: 348
edited March 2014 in Road buying advice
Hi

I have no bike maintenance experience at all other than cleaning the drivetrain and fixing punctures but I have decided to self build a winter bike as a project for fun and to learn how to maintain my own bikes.

The bike won't be raced but will be used for anything from pottering to the shops to long road rides to riding canal paths, dirt tracks and gravel trails. To that end I am looking for a decent alloy or possibly titanium road/CX frame which can take disc brakes, 32mm tyres, mudguards and a pannier rack. Initially I will put 11-speed Ultegra on it with a compact chainset with the aim of swapping that groupset onto my main bike once I am comfortable with how to do it.

I don't have a budget in mind, I'm more interested in getting a reasonably light, strong, comfortable frame. That said this will be a second bike so I don't want to throw money at it unnecessarily.

I've looked at suitable framesets on the web but the choice is simply bewildering, does anybody have any recommendations for a suitable frameset or for webites where I can easily compare multiple framesets?

Thanks

Comments

• ugo.santalucia
    ugo.santalucia Posts: 28,310
    Genesis croix de Fer, look no further

11757-34280-main--185.jpg
    left the forum March 2023
  • Markjaspi
    Markjaspi Posts: 729
    Kinesis Crosslight Pro6 (I'm a bit bias) or the Planet X Flanders (carbon) looks good.
    Cipollini Bond
    Pinarello GAN
  • bobinski
    bobinski Posts: 570
    I would echo the Crosslight pro6. It replaced this...
    http://www.planetx.co.uk/i/q/FROOPO135/ ... mine-frame,
    which i also liked but the frame was too small for me. In fact I still have it if you are interested. I was supposed to use it as a base for a build for my 15 yr old son but he is now taller than me! A medium in white.
  • cycleclinic
    cycleclinic Posts: 6,865