A test of your knowledge, as I don't have any...!

chriswim
chriswim Posts: 20
edited March 2014 in MTB buying advice
Hi all, I'm new to posting on this forum although I've been reading your threads with interest for some time now. I have a big decision to make but would really value some input from you guys before I just jump in a buy a bike because it looks nice. I am about to buy a new mountain bike on the cycle to work scheme, my genius employer has signed up to the Halfords only scheme (yes I have seen what you seem to think about Hellfrauds though out this forum, but like I say I have no choice) and there is a £1000 limit on what I can spend. I am fairly new to mountain biking, I have spent a fair amount of time riding off road but nothing too technical however something I can grow into over the coming year or two is what I am after. I live near Portsmouth so my rides will be around Queen Elizabeth Country Park trail centre, the Southdowns way (long and not to taxing) as well as blasting around the woods at Kingly Vale and up at Denmead.

Having read your threads on full sus v's hardtail and 650b Vs 29er vs 26er etc I am still a little confused around the actual bikes I have a choice of and which would be best. I have posted below the links to the bikes I am considering, perhaps you could offer me your thoughts about the most suitable. I am 5 ft 9 in tall and a bit over weight at the moment (hoping the biking will help reduce that problem as I will be out 1-2 times a week) at 90kg.

I'd love to consider other bikes but like I say not an option for this scheme. My current bike is a 2008 Giant XTC 4.5.

Some of these bikes have been discussed here before but would like to know which you would go for in my shoes please...

Boardman FS TEam
http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stor ... yId_165499

Boardman HT Team 29er

Boardman HT team 650b

Voodoo Bizango (cheaper but good reviews 29er)