Issues replacing gear cable

Auraomega
Auraomega Posts: 15
edited March 2014 in Workshop
From the off I'll say this is my first attempt at changing a gear cable and it's not turning out to be as easy as the youtube videos make it seem...!

My cable snapped in the middle of the gears and replacing the cable all I get is 1, maybe 2 clicks on the shifter and I'm lucky if the derailleur actually shifts at all. It's an old Sora shifter if that makes any difference.

I've just dropped it off at my LBS to get sorted, however they've today told me they may have to charge me more than I was quoted yesterday due to the 'shifter not being in the right position'. A fair whack more.

So my question is what is actually going on with my shifter; is it the 'shifter not being in the right position' that's causing the shift issues and how difficult is that to sort, or is it all just a way to squeeze more money out of me?

Comments

• schlepcycling
    schlepcycling Posts: 1,614
    When they say the shifter isn't in the right position I assume they mean the mech?, if so then it could be that the mech hanger is bent which could account for why it isn't shifting properly, fixing it could account for the additional charge. Why not call them back and ask them to explain what it is they need to do and why is it costing more than they quoted.
    'Hello to Jason Isaacs'
  • Auraomega
    Definitely not the mech as that's all fine, he was on about the actual brake/shifter, something about the shifter not being in the lowest gear so the internal parts aren't in the right position for the cable. I couldn't wrap my head around it to be honest.
  • dgunthor
    dgunthor Posts: 644
    did you refit the cable when the shifter wasn't in the lowest (hardest gear)?

The shifter just moves the cable X stops - if it wasn't in it's lowest position then you'll only get a few clicks/shifts out of it.