Anyone commute from Loughton?

Jamie1966
Jamie1966 Posts: 38
edited March 2014 in Commuting chat
Just got myself a bike and i'm looking to commute from Loughton to St Pauls which is roughly 15 miles, Still cant work out if i can do it or not and wether i am mental !!!

Anyway does anyone on here live Loughton or near and commute the same sort of distance .

Comments

• jzed
    jzed Posts: 2,926
    Yes, I live between Loughton and Buckhurst hill and commute every day. It's around 12 miles into the city. I've been doing it for the last 2 years, although had been commuting and cycling for 2/3 years before that.

It all really depends on your fitness? I'd say set off early one day (before 7.40 is best as there's a little less traffic) and just take it steady and see how it goes, and build it up from there.

If you need help with a route etc just shout.
  • Jamie1966
    Thats great i would love some help and advice, With my job i can actually do my own hours so i start at 7:30am so i am happy to leave home at about 6am

My fitness is poor tbh shouldn't take to long to build it up i am 21 ! I do plan on going on some rides round the area and see how i get on.

The whole idea is that i just fed up on paying £219 a month on poxy trains

How do you find the route into London? Looks prity straight forward when i have looked on maps but got bit confused and lost when i reached the North Circular.
  • jzed
    jzed Posts: 2,926
    You'll miss the traffic then and should have clear roads, which is a plus as traffic is usually a pain later on.

I tend to head straight on from the North Circ down through Whipps Cross roundabout on the Lea Bridge Road to Knott's Green and cut down Leyton Green Road to the Leyton High Road. I then follow that all the way down to Stratford and take CS2/A11 all the way into the city.

http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/375621073