Previously in Road General...

johngti
johngti Posts: 2,508
edited March 2014 in Commuting chat
Anyone willing and able to help me rack up some miles in April?

Background is that I teach in a school in SE London and I'm a tutor in year 10. Last summer my mum had a proper full on cancer scare - Ovarian type - which is horribly under diagnosed due to it being really hard to spot in the early stages. I spoke to mum about sharing it with my tutor group (its an all girls school) to start raising awareness etc and she agreed it'd be good to do this. They reacted beautifully - got her a card that they all signed and presented to me one day. They also decided that they'd like to do some fund raising for a charity and since I cycle, we agreed that the group committing to travel at least 2500 miles under their own steam during April would be a good thing to aim at (they're typical teenagers i.e. not much physical activity taking place). As part of that, I said I'd do 500 miles during April. This is a lot for me - my commute is ~17 miles a day so obviously I can add a bit on to take it up to 20 but the most I've done in a month before is about 250 miles.

But we're on Easter break for the first two weeks of April so I'll need to build some mileage while I'm off. Is there anyone in SE London/Kent who wouldn't mind joining me for a few longer rides? I enjoy riding (obviously) but find it less fun when I'm traipsing around on my own for hours and hours. Just wondering is all!

Ta!

Comments

• Jrf85
    Jrf85 Posts: 15
    Hi
    I live on the boarders of SE london and kent due to work I can only really commit to Sundays.
    Where abouts do you live ?
  • johngti
    Dartford so probably not too far away!
  • Jrf85
    No it's, not I live in belverdere and I wouldn't mind going on some longer rides with you as I also need to get some in and find it difficult to get the motivation if I'm by myself
  • johngti
    Sent you an email as pm doesn't seem to work :)
  • tetley10