Need to make some changes?

stevesloan
stevesloan Posts: 8
edited March 2014 in Road beginners
Ok hi cyclists... I am totally new to cycling and just purchased the subject bike for commuting to work and back and a few hours at the weekend. I've joined skyride so when much better I can go out with others on 13mile plus rides.
But as I'm totally new to road bikes and cycling (haven't done it n years)

Seems cycling can be an expensive game.. I hate my pedals they had some rope thing around them which I have removed as can never get both feet in so now I place my feet upon the rubber shoe holder so I'm guessing I gotta buy some new pedals now. And some lights,a pump (might get a c02 one) also some inner tubes, 2 locks as it's quick release on both wheels, maybe some cycling clothing, and other accessories too

Huh what have I let my self in for !

Comments

• VmanF3
    VmanF3 Posts: 240
    What have you let yourself in for indeed! Top tip, try to avoid GAS, (Gear Acquisition Syndrome) which seems to be directly proportional to the proliferation of the internet and forums. There is always a better bike, more gear, new gadgets. Cycling can be a very cheap fitness tool, hobby, sport, transport.

I'd prefer to have the ability rather than 'all the gear, no idea.'
    Big Red, Blue, Pete, Bill & Doug
  • set goals in your cycling and each time you hit one treat yourself as a reward
    Giant Propel Advanced Pro 1 Disc 2020
    Giant TCR Advanced SL 1 Disc 2020
    Giant TCR Advanced 2 2020
    Canyon Lux CF SL 7.0 2019
    Canyon Spectral CF 7.0 2019
    Canyon Speedmax CF 8.0 Di2 2020
    Wattbike Atom V2
    Garmin Edge 530
  • andrewjoseph
    andrewjoseph Posts: 2,165
    stevesloan wrote:
    Ok hi cyclists... I am totally new to cycling and just purchased the subject bike for commuting to work and back and a few hours at the weekend. I've joined skyride so when much better I can go out with others on 13mile plus rides.