Advice please on new bike for a long absent rider.

Bennyboyyorks
Bennyboyyorks Posts: 4
edited May 2014 in MTB buying advice
Hi everyone I would appreciate a bit of advice please on choosing a new bike.

I am in my 30's and in my youth I was an avid rider from the age of 12 to 22 I was never off my bike and spent more time in the woods than I did anywhere else. I am by no means a beginner rider and took part in the odd xc race in my youth, but have not done any serious riding for the last 8-10 yrs (kids marriage and running a small business means that time has passed me by)

As my kids are getting a little older I have found over the past 6 months I have had a little more opportunity to get out and ride. I have had the same bike for the last 10 yrs a hard tail custom rock lobster. I have been out a few times and have really got the bug back.

I have always rode h/t as when I was a lad f/s were alway way out of my reach financially plus they always seemed really heavy and cumbersome, the ones in my price range. F/S were reserved for d/h only.

I paid a visit to my local bike shop the other month and I was blown away with how much technology has come along in the last ten years. I was told by the shop assistant that anything but 29ers are a waste of time and no one rides h/t s anymore (I had to search on tinternet to see what a 29er was). I must add that the shop assistant did look about 15 and had his cap on sideways.

So basically I am in a position where I want to upgrade my bike to something more modern which will suit my riding. I have a maximum (very max) of £2k to spend ( I am having to buy the wife a bike as well as she is keen to start as well)

I live on the edge of the Lake District so plan to take advantage of my surroundings and head out to do some good trails and xc riding on my own and feel my way back into it and build my confidence up again.