£300 - £600 MTB advice?

NoahPJCurtis
NoahPJCurtis Posts: 19
edited March 2014 in MTB buying advice
I could do with some tips for buying a bike and I have no idea what to look out for. I'm 16 years old and I've suddenly decided I want to take more risks in life and I'm pretty desperate to get myself a mountain bike for downhill tracks. I was about to buy a BMX just moments ago but I decided last second I'd rather save myself an extra bit of cash to get a decent mountain bike at a reasonable price. I have little knowledge of bikes but my goals are pretty clear and I want to get some thrills from downhill MTB riding, so if somebody could point me in the right direction I'd be eternally grateful.

Tl;dr, I'm 16 years old and want to buy a MTB for downhill biking purposes. I'd like the bike to be of decent quality and I have £290 at the moment so I'd be looking to spend around £300 to £600 on this bike, perhaps a stretch for £700 if it seemed necessary considering the quality of the bike.

Thanks in advance to anyone that's able to point me in the right direction

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    If you mean actual Downhill, you won't get a new one for that. Second hand maybe.

If you just mean riding down hills after riding up them you will get a decent bike for £600 or a very good second hand one. See the sticky at the top of Buying Advice. A Voodoo would be my suggestion for a pretty tough bike.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • cooldad wrote:
    If you mean actual Downhill, you won't get a new one for that. Second hand maybe.

If you just mean riding down hills after riding up them you will get a decent bike for £600 or a very good second hand one. See the sticky at the top of Buying Advice. A Voodoo would be my suggestion for a pretty tough bike.