Road Lights for the Day

CXrider
CXrider Posts: 141
edited March 2014 in Road buying advice
Hi all,
I was off cycling at the weekend when I spotted two cyclists who both had these amazing lights on the front and back.
It was about Midday on Sunday 9th, best day of the year so far but these lights were incredibly bright, as bright as any car light (front) or brake light (rear). The rear lights were flashing in a red-red-green, red-red-green, etc, sequence.

Any idea what these lights are? They passed by pretty quickly as I was stationary but they looked to be relatively large though it might have just been the affect of the light. They looked like very serious kitted-out cyclists.

I just though how incredibly safe they looked. They stood out boldly even when they were half a mile down the road.
Pedal to Paris blog at http://RideToParis.co.uk

Comments

• markhewitt1978
    markhewitt1978 Posts: 7,614
    I'm no legal expert but would red-green flashing be legal?
  • cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    I don't really think it matters. I've not heard of anyone being stopped for having lights. It's not really a big offence.
  • I have a Lezyne MicroDrive rear light I use in daylight if it's gloomy or overcast.

It has a daytime running mode which is very bright- lasts around 2hrs on this highest setting. Certainly NOT to be used at night in this mode. The number of cyclists who comment on its effectiveness is impressive- I can highly recommend it.

Nice n small too and has USB charge. Check them out at Merlin or-the-like...

I also use an old Dinotte on the front on similar overcast or gloomy Winter days. The flash mode is again, very distinct. I've had lots of cyclists come the other way comment on whether I'm aware "YOUR FRONT LIGHT IS ON!". Well, yeah.....it's not much use to me OFF is it!

I actually think using lights in the daytime are an effective method of getting yourself noticed as long as you have decent lights that are as effective as these.
  • drlodge