Good price for a used red triban 3?

Solitary
Solitary Posts: 7
edited March 2014 in Road buying advice
I have found a used red triban 3 on sale near my location and the bike has been used for just over a year. Details on its use are vague and I don't really know how often the person rode it for. The seller said the rear wheel had a puncture a few days ago and she's getting it replaced. She's asked for £200 for the bike but I'm getting the vibes that the price may be a little too high. We've arranged to meet so I can try it out. What do you guys think?

I'm basing this off the triban 3's that are sold on eBay and how much they get sold for. I feel as if compared to that, for the price I'm going to pay I could possibly do better. I'm just getting into cycling so I'm not very knowledgeable on this whole topic. Any help would be massively appreciated

Comments

• Hmm, whats it worth?
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • topdude
    topdude Posts: 1,557
    If it has been looked after {not left out in the rain or ridden with no oil on the chain} then £200 is not much to pay for a reasonable road bike. You need to check it over and make sure it is the right size for you. Do you know anyone to come along and give a second opinion ?
    He is not the messiah, he is a very naughty boy !!
  • I sold mine for £250 in December. It had about 3.500 miles on it. But it had new chainrings, chain, cassette, and new wheels that came off the Felt Z95 I had just bought. It sold within ten minutes of listing it, so obviously could have gone for a bit more,

£200 sounds about right to me.

It's on sale for £250 at Decathlon at the minute. I think the biggest size left is 51 though.
  • apreading
    apreading Posts: 4,535