hardtail vs full suss

Rigger/frigger
Rigger/frigger Posts: 44
edited March 2014 in MTB general
Guys and Girls,

I know this has probably been done to death in the past but I am fairly new to mtb, I bought myself a rockrider 8.1 and really enjoy the bike but I am having my head turned by all these beautifully engineered full suss bikes.

So the questions I would like to ask are:-

Is there a major difference in the ride between the two?

Is full suss better?

Would I find it advantageous to spend the 2-3k (and upwards I see) on a full suss?

My usual rides are lagan, glenlivet and moray monster trails with the odd trip golspie.

Thanks

Comments

• mcnultycop
    mcnultycop Posts: 2,143
    Someone will be along to say learn skills on a hardtail.

It'd ignore them. Full suss is ace for bumpy stuff. Keep the hardtail though and get a full suss and choose the most appropriate for the riding you are doing.
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    I don't know the places you ride however FS is a benefit if
    1/You have to slow down when it gets a bit too bumpy
    2/ You have to lift your bum out the saddle a lot as it's too bumpy
    3/ You have to walk up hills a lot due to loss of traction over bumps

If not you are probably better off on your circa 1Kg (like for like) lighter hardtail.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • stubs
    stubs Posts: 5,001
    If your fat, old, ugly, wheezy with knackered knees and back get a FS

If your gorgeous, sexy, skilfull and have to beat hot women (or men) off with a stick get a HT

Or is it the other way round I can never remember.

As long as it has wheels Its not about the bike buy the best bike you cant afford.
    Fig rolls: proof that god loves cyclists and that she wants us to do another lap
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    stubs wrote: