Road shoes

garethshort
garethshort Posts: 10
edited March 2014 in Road buying advice
Hi all,

Im new to the road bike scene but have now bought my bike and have started using it for about 2-3 hours per day (on my turbo trainer).

No im used to it (used to be a MTB'er) im now looking at buying some road shoes and wanted to ask for your opinions on a couple of pairs. Im looking at riding from Cardiff to Paris in September and wanted to buy a pair of shoes that would work for that ride. I was looking at buying a pair now and then the identical pair a couple of weeks leading up to the ride so they are newer. As im still a newbie i was wondering if any one could advise out of these pairs please? Im sorry to be a pain to ask questions.

Shimano R088 - http://www.wiggle.co.uk/shimano-r088-spd-sl-road-shoes/
Specialized Elite Touring Shoe - http://www.evanscycles.com/products/spe ... 80#reviews
Shimano RT82 - http://www.wiggle.co.uk/shimano-rt82-touring-shoes/

I wanted to stay around this price range if possible. If any one could suggest any better ones id be glad to take on your comments.

Thanks

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    edited March 2014
    I would not bother getting two pairs of the same shoe, spend the money on one better pair.
    What do you think is going to happen to them in 6 months?

They will be better when worn in anyway. New ones may give you problems on the ride.
    Do not do anything new on a big ride or event. Everything has to be tried and tested.

Avoid touring shoes, they are for touring only.
    Touring is cycling to towns and then walking about in the town.
    They use MTB cleats and pedals.

Road shoes (like the first ones in your list) are the most difficult to walk in because the cleat is exposed.
    MTB shoes would be a better option than touring shoes. They are stiffer and you can still walk in them.