Worth the extra money for Tiagra over Sora?

nomelette
nomelette Posts: 13
edited March 2014 in Road buying advice
Hi there,

I'm a newbie to road cyclist hoping to buy myself a shiny new bike. I've tried sitting on a few in LBS and endless searching online for a good deal.

I've been looking into the Scott Contessa Speedster range but I'm not sure whether it's best to get the cheapest 24 speed "speedster 45" model with a lower end gearset, pay £100 more for the (27 speed) 35 model with Sora/Tiagra gearing or go another £50 on that with the speedster 25 model with full tiagra gearing (30 speed). There may be other differences between the three but the frame's seem to be the same as far as I can tell, but I don't know!

The answer is probably how much I'll actually use the bike, but I was hoping for a bit of advice from you guys :)

Cheers,
Alice

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    edited March 2014
    I would not bother as its a triple.

If it were a compact with two chainrings then there would be a bigger advantage to having 10 sprockets instead of 8/9.
    Even then, what you do not have you do not miss, so 8/9 would be fine unless you had experienced 10

On a triple you should not need as big a large sprocket on the cassette so you will be in pretty much the same position as if you had 10 with a compact.

That said its always better to have more sprockets and smoother jumps in gears.
    Also the triple may come with as big a cassette as its compact equivalent so you will still have big jumps on the 8\9 speed.
    Are there no other differences? Carbon forks?
  • ellj22
    ellj22 Posts: 122