Is this normal practice?

steve_kay
steve_kay Posts: 197
edited March 2014 in Road beginners
I've been riding for around six months now. Always on my own as I'm not part of a cycling club. I was riding home this evening and passed another cyclist at the bottom of a hill. I pulled back in and carried on as normal. About 2 minutes later I looked over my right shoulder to check for traffic passing and saw the same cyclist right on my rear wheel but to the right slightly. He stayed there for a good 10 minutes before turning off. Is this the done thing? It didn't bother me but just seemed a bit odd. If anything it pushed me harder to maintain a good speed (21 mph is a good speed for me), especially with quite a strong head wind. I understand why he did it as it's less effort for him riding in my slipstream. Has anyone else experienced this?

Comments

• ForumNewbie
    ForumNewbie Posts: 1,664
    Steve_kay wrote:
    I've been riding for around six months now. Always on my own as I'm not part of a cycling club. I was riding home this evening and passed another cyclist at the bottom of a hill. I pulled back in and carried on as normal. About 2 minutes later I looked over my right shoulder to check for traffic passing and saw the same cyclist right on my rear wheel but to the right slightly. He stayed there for a good 10 minutes before turning off. Is this the done thing? It didn't bother me but just seemed a bit odd. If anything it pushed me harder to maintain a good speed (21 mph is a good speed for me), especially with quite a strong head wind. I understand why he did it as it's less effort for him riding in my slipstream. Has anyone else experienced this?