Few Accessories for Commuting Beginners

BicyclesBuddy
BicyclesBuddy Posts: 3
edited March 2014 in Commuting general
I am just a newbie in cycling and commuting, so pardon me if I miss anything from this list :) This are the stuff that I thought would be necessary to any beginners in commuting.

Must Have
Kickstand
Quality Helmet
Water Bottle Stand
Head Light and Tail Light

Can Wait
Cyclocomputer

Are this stuff enough ?

Comments

• slowbike
    slowbike Posts: 8,498
    you don't need a kickstand ...

lights - yes

you're missing everything to do with repairing your bike on the road ...

Multi-tool including chain breaker
    Tyre levers
    Pump
    2 spare tubes
    instant patches
    Tyreboot
    Chain Quicklink
  • markhewitt1978
    markhewitt1978 Posts: 7,614
    Kickstand - You don't need that, unless you have a specific requirement, most bikes don't have them.
    Quality Helmet - Yes
    Water Bottle Stand - Bottle cage? Yes, if your commute is short e.g. <30 minutes you could get away without one.
    Head Light and Tail Light - If you're riding in the dark, yes, it's a legal requirement.

Cyclocomputer - Right, something to be said for cycling without numbers!

You also need, pump, puncture repair kit or spare tube or both. Tyre levers. Multitool.

Appropriate clothing for cycling in all weathers. Doesn't have to be cycling specific but it helps.
  • jonnyboy77
    jonnyboy77 Posts: 547
    computer isn't important - but I would counter thats there is a lot positive about riding with numbers, I certainly found it incredibly beneficial to keep track of mileage/time spent riding on the commute and used the improvements seen to spur me on to ride further/longer.

Its not for everyone, and I don't obsess about real time data, my commute is recorded but I don't get to see my current/average speed or distance covered displayed on my handlebars. I tuck my iPhone in my pocket and leave it recording Strava.