Moving from a road bike - what to go for?

Sonny.sam
Sonny.sam Posts: 4
edited March 2014 in Commuting general
Hey guys,

First of all I'm new here, so hi!

I've been riding road bikes for the past 3 years, and have come to the point of deciding to sell mine, as it was built from old parts so is starting to feel its age a little, and I can't really afford to keep up with the maintenance. Also, I have never really been into racing or group cycling as much, so the road bike is not really what I need.

My main travel at the moment is just general short commute to and from work, and then visiting friends (generally between 20 and 30 miles) on the weekend. I average about 100m per week, although I do also like longer distance riding occasionally, especially in summer. I love the speed of my road bike, but it's not the most durable given that I cycle in pretty much all weather conditions, and it's not always a comfortable ride.

With this in mind, I've been looking into hybrids, tourers and cyclo-cross bikes, but my main issue is that my price range isn't huge. I'm really looking for something £400 or under - preferably £350 so I can grab some new tyres and a different saddle too. I'd prefer drop handlebars if possible, but I can always retrofit later if necessary.

A few bikes that have got my attention so far:

http://www.evanscycles.com/products/spe ... e-ec030741
http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stor ... yId_165534
http://www.edinburghbicycle.com/product ... aveller-13
http://www.edinburghbicycle.com/product ... n-cross-13

I guess the issue is that I love having the speed of a road bike, but would like a little more comfort and durability without sacrificing too much of that.

Any help or advice would be appreciated!

Thanks,
Sam.

Comments

• mat1971
    mat1971 Posts: 7