Upper body armour for DH days

alexthebear
alexthebear Posts: 349
edited February 2014 in MTB buying advice
After having just read a few previous threads on the subject I've narrowed my question to this..... Do you use it and if so what?

I'm new to proper DH riding and by proper I mean Gawton DH tracks (if you don't know it look it up then comment). I've had 3 really big offs recently and I'm currently sporting some torn shoulder ligaments and a very painful bruised lower back which has got me looking at some body armour for DH days only. I've got a 2nd hand Leat neck brace on the way, have knee pads, 661 padded shorts and a full face, what do you guys wear with that?

I'm expecting the whole "learn to fall better" and "get a skills course" and yes I intend to do both but I know for the next year or so I'm going to be coming off a fair bit so want a layer of protection to reduce the impacts

Cheers

Comments

• rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    Gawton can be a brutal place. Super Tavi and Egypt are fun but they can bite back when you get it wrong. I know both have claimed broken backs.
    I use 661 Vapour pressure suit but it's not compatible with a neck brace. I would go for either Alpinestars or Troy Lee armour with a neck brace.
    Personally I dont like shin guards but wouldn't ride downhill without knee pads.
    They do some great coaching days at Gawton.
    How are the trails holding up in this weather?
  • Gawton IS a brutal place full stop!!! Awsome runs that have been really well laid out but when it goes wrong it goes all levels of wrong hence the sudden urge for some extra protection :lol: