Vintage Miller Dynamo rear light problem

mikkybgs
mikkybgs Posts: 78
edited February 2014 in Workshop
Hi,

Apologies if this is the wrong section but I wasn't sure where to post this!

I have recently acquired a vintage bike that is fitted with a Miller Dynamo with front and rear lamps.

The front is working fine but I can not get the back to work and I'm not sure if I'm missing something that is obvious.

It had no bulb in so I have tried two bulbs. The bulb which i expected to work was 6v 6w 1a. It is halogen though, does that make a difference?

All the wiring seems to be fine.

The reason I think I may be missing something is I've never worked with a dynamo before and when I try a rear bulb the front no longer works so is the dynamo not generating enough power to light both bulbs?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Also it is worth noting that the rear bulb has to be a push and the halogen was the only one I could find that was at 6v 6w 1a.
  • Have alook through peter white's website. Seem to be the dynamo knowledge centre on the web.

http://www.peterwhitecycles.com/taillights.asp
  • term1te
    term1te Posts: 1,462
    Most dynamo systems only produce 3W at 6v, so your 6W bulb probably can't draw enough power to glow, especially if you've got a front light as well.

With standard incandescent bulbs you have 2.4W at the front and 0.6W at the rear.

You could take the front bulb out and swap it into the rear fitting to check the wiring?

I'd try a 6V 0.6W bulb in the rear light, if you are confident the wiring is OK.
  • Term1te wrote:
    Most dynamo systems only produce 3W at 6v, so your 6W bulb probably can't draw enough power to glow, especially if you've got a front light as well.

With standard incandescent bulbs you have 2.4W at the front and 0.6W at the rear.

You could take the front bulb out and swap it into the rear fitting to check the wiring?

I'd try a 6V 0.6W bulb in the rear light, if you are confident the wiring is OK.