Specialized Venge

louissuggett
louissuggett Posts: 36
edited June 2014 in Your road bikes
So today I picked up the latest steed from work (Sigma Sport). I am on a very small budget as i'm a student so getting a good frame was the most important thing. I'm not going to be training on this bike as I have a couple of cross bikes and a road training bike so the venge stays in the garage for racing and sunny days. I mainly race crits and the longest E12 races I do are no more than 3 hours, so comfort wasn't the priority.

I wanted something that was going to be dirty quick but also ride like its on rails and handle like a beast. I generally throw the bike around a lot and can be quite aggressive so I needed something strong. From working with Specialized at work (Sigma Sport) I knew that the Venge would suit me down to the ground. I could only afford the 104/ultegra model but I am upgrading to di2 in a few months.

I rode the bike back from work today and all I can say is that I nearly took it back because its soooooooo quick. It's very very stiff and when you get above about 22mph it cruises and just wants to go quicker and quicker. You also feel as though all the power you put through the pedals goes into the rear wheel and leaves you with a bike that you can flick around and accelerate on very rapidly. I wasn't expecting it to be too forgiving and although the cable routing does rattle a little bit, It seems to take all the bumps ok.

Will next ride it on Friday for my BG fit, training on the winter bike for now (all this rain :( )
Will update with more info and pictures after next weekends first race of the season!
Enjoy

20140216_163543_zps63838817.jpg
20140216_172905_zpsaee65313.jpg
20140216_172807_zpsbaede889.jpg

Comments

• TakeTurns
    TakeTurns Posts: 1,075
    Funny how you've already slammed the stem. I wish they'd sort that headtube out.

Looks like a nice finish, pics don't quite do it justice.

What racing wheels are you putting on there?