5ft7, is 51cm frame too small? Triban 3 owners in Somerset?

david1980
david1980 Posts: 11
edited February 2014 in Road buying advice
I've been offered a hardly used Triban 3 (the carbon forked version) for £150, which sounds good to me.

But i'm not sure if it is too small for me, its not close enough for me to try out size wise and i'm not near a decathalon store either.

I'm 33 years old so i'm not growing anymore, 5ft 7in with a 30.5 inch inner leg.

The bike is a 51 cm frame, but i'm not sure if I would be better waiting for a 54 cm frame to come up for sale.

I have looked at lots of posts from people a similar size to me and it seems to swing both ways with pretty much 50% saying that the 54 was the right size and 50% saying it was too big.

I also noticed that the 54 comes with 700c wheels wheras the 51 has 650b wheels, but i'm new to biking and don't know how much a difference that would make if any?

So i'm not sure what to do??? If you own or have tried a triban 3 I would love to hear what your opinion was.

Or better still if any of you Triban 3 owners have a 51 or 54 size frame and live anywhere near the Taunton area in Somerset i'd love to try one for size???

Any advice is much appreciated.

Comments

• B'twin Triban 3 size 54, seat tube 45cm, top tube (real) 53cm, top tube (virtual) 54cm.

You need a 54. I'm 171cm and ride bikes with a 52.5/53.5cm top tubes.
  • First of all, if it's in decent nick that's a steal! I sold my Triban for £250 a couple of months ago. It sold 5 minutes after listing it, so probably could have gotten a bit more. I'm 5'10 and had a 57cm Triban. My new bikes are a 54 Felt and a 55 Giant TCR. Both feel a much better size. There's no substitute for actually trying a bike, or getting properly fitted, but I doubt there are many 5'7 people on 54cm frames.

There's a Triban 3 forum:

triban3owners.freeforums.net/

Might be an owner near you on it.
  • I doubt there are many 5'7 people on 54cm frames