xt m775 discs Long lever travel.

duncancallum
duncancallum Posts: 10
edited February 2014 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi

I'm new to disc brakes as I have only just got back into the sport and when I was riding last discs where too expensive.

So to cut the waffle I cant seem to get a decent lever from these, they are very long and moveing the free stroke screw does next to sod all. If I throw the reach adjusters in to suit my dumpy fingers the lever pulls back to the bar.

The rear is worse and the other issue is they dont feel as powerfull as they should, I know pad choice is a big issue with them and they are on ceramics which do need some heat in them.

so any tips.

Comments

• jimothy78
    jimothy78 Posts: 1,407
    Are they new? If not, excessive lever travel could mean they need bleeding. That would also explain the perceived lack of power.
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    jimothy78 wrote:
    Are they new? If not, excessive lever travel could mean they need bleeding. That would also explain the perceived lack of power.
    sorry BOLLOCKS.

bleeding is the LAST thing that should ever be done.

first have you been out on the bike?

the pads need to 1 bed it and the piston position settle.

adjusting the lever reach away from the bars can speed up the piston position settling. then adjust reach to suit.

braking power will come with use as the pads bed in.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • Ive been out on it,

after I bled the rear its brought the travel down but its still not as short as I would like it to be.

Im not getting a lot of heat into them so was wondering if dropping the ceramic and going for organic would be best?
  • Cqc
    Cqc Posts: 951
    nicklouse wrote:
    jimothy78 wrote:
    sorry ****.

bleeding is the LAST thing that should ever be done.
    Why?
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599