Wheelsize Query

rsmaybury
rsmaybury Posts: 16
edited February 2014 in Road beginners
Hi,

I'm a newbie to road biking and have a question which may seem a bit dumb ? Just purchased a 56 cm Claude Butler San Remo 2013 Road Bike. The tyres on the bike are 700 x 23c.

I was a bit surprised about how hard the ride the bike is.......I've read some reports on the web that you can increase the tyre size to give you a more stable and comfortable ride - is this correct ?

If so, is there a limit I could increase the tyre sizes on the current wheels. For example 700 x 25 c - could I even go up to 700 x 30c ? Also would I need larger inner tubes ?

Many Thanks,

Comments

• pinno
    pinno Posts: 51,366
    What make of tyres are you riding? Michelins/Continental ride more softly than some of the cheaper options - Vittoria twin thread for example.
    I think you would easily get away with 25mm but there is no substitute for decent quality tyres. Latex inner tubes help. I ride 25mm's with 700x20-22c latex inner tubes which fit just fine. You can also pump the 25's to 110psi and retain the ride quality.
    Aluminium frames can be a little stiff and the CB has a 'hefty' steel fork which is probably unforgiving and for a good upgrade, maybe think of changing them fir carbon one's.

£60 on fleabay:

!BmFjukwB2k~$(KGrHqEOKicEtkBE6jB0BLeWSORdp!~~_12.JPG

or
    Ambrosio (£40.00):

miBxZGT2HUxjkIml5Ow43XQ.jpg
    seanoconn - gruagach craic!
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Can you provide a link to these forks, I'm in the market for one.
  • Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    OP, yes, there is a max size of tyre you can fit. This will be determined primarily by the internal rim width and also the bike geometry. This site explains the concept about rim size and also gives a helpful table but you may need to get a ruler out or callipers if there isn't a size stamped on the rim somewhere, e.g., 622x15 where 15mm is the rim width: