first bike advice, live in valley lots hills, small budget

david1980
david1980 Posts: 11
edited February 2014 in Road buying advice
Hi All,

I'm new to cycling and i'm lookng for advice on my first road bike.

I'm 5"7' tall and weigh 140 lbs.

I live in a valley surrounded by hills, so i'm looking to get they best bike I can to make those hills a easy as possible.

I have a small budget of £200 and at those prices i'm looking at something second hand.

Within my budget I have seen:

These are the ones whos names I recognised
B'twin Triban 3 £200
Giant Defy 3 £200
specialized langster £170
Carrera Virtuoso £135
Raleigh airlite £135 (all red frame version 14 gears)

These are the ones whos names I did not recognise but looked like decent bikes
claude butler road bike £200
pulse gtx £200 (new)
diamond back sprint £190
Dawes Giro 200 £130 - £175 or Giro 300 £200
viking ventura £100 or viking sprint £150 (new) or viking scirroco £175 (new) Viking Giro D'italia £170 (new)
vitesse sprint race £130 (21 gears)
barricuda £120
optima corsa £100 (14 gears)
falcon peleton £175
salcano racer £105 (21 gears)

Other than that it was pretty much an old peugeot, raleigh etc vintage racer going from £20 up to £200

Hope you can help as I know very little about bikes.

Comments

• There's a reason you've heard of some bikes and not the others.

The ones you've heard of a reliable bikes from reputable brands. I'd go for the Giant out of those. Everyone I know who rides a Giant is happy with it.

Avoid the Langster - it's single speed so not ideal for getting up the side of a valley.
  • More important than the make or model are

1 - It has to fit. At 5'7", I guess that you need a 52cm frame.
    2 - If you live in the hills, the chainset (front gears) needs to be either 'compact' (50 tooth and 34 tooth gears) or a triple (3 gears)
  • on-yer-bike
    on-yer-bike Posts: 2,974