An array of questions from a complete beginner

EasierBold
EasierBold Posts: 2
edited February 2014 in Road beginners
Hello bikeradar!

Background

To begin, I am 18 years old, I'm a programmer for a local software company, 5'11, heavy set, 245lbs (overweight), and I don't really know the first thing about cycling. Of course I had a bike a few years ago, but I'm really looking to expand upon the very basic knowledge I have of cycling. I would say I haven't even been on a bike for at least 5 years. Where I live I never have to make a round trip longer than 10 miles, so I'm eventually looking to get rid of my car payment and rely purely on cycling as my main form of transportation.

I purchased my first road bike yesterday: the Schwinn Men's Prelude 700c. This bike came very highly regarded on the beginner road bike reviews I read, fit my height perfectly, and was on sale on Amazon for $268. I assembled the bike yesterday and took it out for its first spin: a trip around my neighborhood of about 2.3 miles (primarily uphill). All in all, I am extremely satisfied with the bike (although I don't have anything to compare it to!).

The Questions:

1. I noticed when I got on the bike this morning for my second 2 mile ride that my butt was very sore. This led to me often standing up on the bike throughout the ride to ease the pressure on it. Is this normal? I have read some reviews of this bike on Amazon where the individual recommends replacing the stock seat with a more cushioned one. Will I become used to the stock seat to the point where I won't notice it (similar to your fingers callusing when playing guitar) or am I best investing in a better seat? I'm okay with the pain if it's something I just need to get used to - my main concern is just longevity and my future. If it's something I'll want to replace in the future, I have no problem replacing it now.