172.5 cranks vs 170

KateS
KateS Posts: 12
edited March 2014 in Road buying advice
Hi, I'm pretty new to road cycling and loving it. I'm a 5'7 female with an inseam of 80 cm and ride a Boardman Comp (men's). I'm having a lot of knee trouble since a 40 mile ride last year....possibly a classic case of too much too soon. I had a professional fit last Nov when I bought clip in pedals and was told the bike and my position were fine. I was identified as having tight leg muscles, particularly the ITB band and given stretches to do and have bought a foam roller. I've been doing the exercises since Xmas most days and cycling about twice a week...mainly on my trainer. Still having trouble so was wondering if swapping my 172.5 cranks to 170 may help. The fitter didn't mention them as a problem. Not sure if I would be wasting my money and that I just need to be a bit more patient with my stretches! Any advice gratefully received!

Comments

• doing a bit of research on this at the moment myself, I'm 5'9'' and have been fitted for 165mm cranks, the fitter is into biomechanics and reckons most people's cranks are too long resulting in a lot of knee problems.
  • Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    edited February 2014
    Personally, I don't think it will make any difference whatsoever. Try reading this very interesting article:

http://bikedynamics.co.uk/FitGuidecranks.htm

I reckon the pains you have are because you are not getting the right massages (strecthes for the ITB don't work very well). Why not have a couple of sessions with a decent sports physio? I go to see one every now and then and it is money well spent. Foam rollers are good for ITB but they are only a poor substitute for a proper and specific massage. I have managed to learn how my physio massages the ITB and then taught my wife, who helps me when it is playing up (no sniggering at back please).
  • diamonddog
    diamonddog Posts: 3,426
    Try the formula below, it may help you out. :)