Rain!!

Chunkyone
Chunkyone Posts: 53
edited February 2014 in Commuting general
It's not funny any more. I usually just accept the weather as part of the occupational hazzard of commuting by bike everyday but the rain, wind and cold has really got to me this year.

As a forty seven year old bloke commuting between 11 and 15 miles each way to work every day I have always been pleased with my efforts in staying on the bike all year in the past but this year it seems harder to motivate myself to go out in all weathers.

Am I just going soft or do others feel the same?

Comments

• While I don't commute, but, I do train in the mornings ( I am an artist and my creativity is non-existent before 11am ) I wake up a 7:30 and most mornings recently it has been - Oh Bo***cks not again, I don't mind the rain usually but it's killing rims, tyres and drive-train. This relentless bad weather will stop eventually but it has become a royal pain in the butt.

There have been moments when I have said 'Sod it, I'm not riding'
  • Initialised
    Initialised Posts: 3,047
    Rain? Where the feck is the snow?
    I used to just ride my bike to work but now I find myself going out looking for bigger and bigger hills.
  • joelsim
    joelsim Posts: 7,552
    I don't mind the rain as long as I am properly dressed for it.
  • I agree, It's got to the point where I am going to take my winter bike* apart for maintenance tonight and not worry too much if it's not ready by the morning!

*loose term, it's been my only bike for the past six years but the new frame and wheels are still in boxes waiting to be built and for the sun to shine!
    2007 Trek 1.2
    2014 Genesis Equilibrium 20
  • Joelsim wrote:
    I don't mind the rain as long as I am properly dressed for it.

+1

Commuting safely in all weather is fine by me, public transport is a vveerrrryyyy last resort....
    I ride with God on my mind and power in my thighs....WOE betide you!