General Question on Sportives

Dizeee
Dizeee Posts: 337
edited February 2014 in Road general
I have never done one before, and have now found out I am not in the London100, so have been looking at Wiggle Sportives.

Few simple questions -

1) Parking, is it generally decent and accessible or is it an absolute nightmare?

2) I have an Edge 200 - do they have a marked route out on the road, can I download it as a breadcrumb trail and do you need a better Garmin to download the file?

3) Is there food & nutrition + inner tubes on the route or do I need to take a bulls scrotum of flapjack and inner tubes with me dangling from the seatpost?

4) Is Wiggle a good company, are there any other companies worth looking at?

I think that's it for now, many thanks. My plan is to do at least two, the Waterlooville Mega Meon Epic in July and then the South Downs Epic in October.

Comments

• To answer question 3, I use a mutton scrotum to hold my tubes... the skin is lighter and stretchier and weighs less...
    left the forum March 2023
  • esdel
    esdel Posts: 28
    1) Parking, its always very good, some have over 2 thousand competitors, so there has to be room

2) I have an Edge 200 - they are always superbly marked, its almost impossible to go wrong

3) Is there food & nutrition + inner tubes on the route , feed stations are always there some times two, there is a mobile mechanic that goes around the route, but you should take enough for one puncture

4) Is Wiggle a good company, are there any other companies worth looking at? cat answer that one as i mostly cycle the wiggle ones, i do about 8 a year.
  • Dizeee wrote:
    1) Parking, is it generally decent and accessible or is it an absolute nightmare?
    At the Wiggle event I did last year there was a big car park. Got a bit muddy though...
    2) I have an Edge 200 - do they have a marked route out on the road, can I download it as a breadcrumb trail and do you need a better Garmin to download the file?