Help me save my fork

gritty
gritty Posts: 15
edited January 2014 in MTB workshop & tech
So I got myself a Scott Peak since I am new to mtb an all. The fork on it is terrible tho(Suntour XCM HLO), not seeing a lot of bounce on it, it's gonna be the first thing I replace. So can I put forward a couple of questions to you all.

Suggestion for fork upgrade, probably spend about £100?? Or should I spend more? What's a good value fork? I haven't looked into the market for this yet so any advice more than welcome.

Should I oil up my current fork set up so they deliver a bit more suspension as they are quite stiff just now and only travel 30-40mm...does this improve things?

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    They aren't the best forks. Look for a RockSHox XC30 or XC32.
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Probably need to spend a bit more - £150-£200 will get a Suntour Epicon or Rockshox Recon.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • gritty
    Trust me Im learning my lessons now, 1st one is do your homework....

Hearing decent things about rock shox, cheers
  • gritty
    cooldad wrote:
    Probably need to spend a bit more - £150-£200 will get a Suntour Epicon or Rockshox Recon.

Yeah I guessed I'd have to double that...name o the game
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    The forks I mentioned are good enough if you can't stretch. They use the same damper as RS forks far higher up the range.
  • gritty
    supersonic wrote:
    The forks I mentioned are good enough if you can't stretch. They use the same damper as RS forks far higher up the range.

Well I guess id rather wouldn't stretch, being new to it a cheaper upgrade will do me until Im really ready for a good bike
  • 97th choice
    97th choice Posts: 2,222
    Too-ra-loo-ra, too-ra-loo-rye, aye

Giant Trance
    Radon ZR 27.5 Race
    Btwin Alur700
    Merida CX500
  • gritty