Which shoes for MTB? Clipless?

John_Carter
John_Carter Posts: 87
edited January 2014 in MTB buying advice
Hello people,
I'm new to Mountain Biking and so far loving it.

I'm looking for proper shoes, I don't want to continue ruitning my trainers with mud, but at the same time want to stay with flat pedals...

Shoes also need to be waterproof as this is England...

Any ideas are welcome, I understand it doesn't have to be a 'special' MTB shoe coudl also be a trail shoe...
How about these: http://tinyurl.com/m7cq9u2 ?

I'm open to ideas, thanks!

Comments

• So do you want clipless or not?
  • So do you want clipless or not?

Sorry,
    I meant regular shoes for regular pedals... ;-)

Thanks!
  • miceden
    miceden Posts: 225
    While they will work those Merrells are not cycling shoes or even trail shoes imo... I would point you in the direction of Shimano AM45 shoes - they are waterproof, provide some ankle protection, fairly warm in winter, comfortable to wear & walk in and you can use them with flat and clipless pedals.

You may or may not make the transition to clipless, depends how you get on, but for now you may as well have a shoe that will let you do both yet work equally well on either.
  • miceden wrote:
    While they will work those Merrells are not cycling shoes or even trail shoes imo... I would point you in the direction of Shimano AM45 shoes - they are waterproof, provide some ankle protection, fairly warm in winter, comfortable to wear & walk in and you can use them with flat and clipless pedals.

You may or may not make the transition to clipless, depends how you get on, but for now you may as well have a shoe that will let you do both yet work equally well on either.

Thanks Mate,
    these Shimanos look greta and are spot on - I'll get a pair -

Thanks again!
  • Lewis A
    Lewis A Posts: 767