Road cycling helmets - Don't want a fat head!

thegiant2014
thegiant2014 Posts: 2
edited January 2014 in Road buying advice
Hi all,
Newbie here so go easy on me if this has already been asked in other postings.

Basically, I have a Specialized road helmet which is great, v comfortable etc but it makes me look like I've got a mushroom for a head as it is very "rounded" at the sides & up/over the basic shape.

I'm looking around at a new one anyway to take advantage of the sales & wondered if there were any riders out there that could recommend a brand/model that will give me the levels of safety & comfort I want for xx hours wearing but also are a bit "slimmer" in overall profile & with less at the sides basically.

A bit vain some might say but I don't want to ride with a head that looks like a mushroom out of the Super Mario Bro's game......

Comments

• dnwhite88
    dnwhite88 Posts: 285
    Had the same issue with specialized, bought kask k50 which is much more flattering
    "It never gets easier, you just go faster"
  • cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    Go to shop.
    Try on helmet.
    Buy one that is :

A. Comfortable - nobody else has your head so we can't judge this.
    B. Less mushroomy.
  • The most discrete profile on a road helmet I've seen is on the Garneau helmets stocked by Evans. Also think the Catlike helmets are pretty good for this
  • majormantra
    majormantra Posts: 2,094
    Lazer!

I have a big head (59cm or something) and the unisize Lazer O2 doesn't make me look like a mushroom unlike, say, a Giro.

I also like Uvex.
  • smidsy
    smidsy Posts: 5,273
    Kask Mojito, probably the sexiest/least mushroomy lid out there - but helmets are like shoes - you need to try them as everyone has different shape/size heads.
    Yellow is the new Black.
  • GGBiker
    GGBiker Posts: 450
    I think the mushroom thing happens with a thin face, fat folks never have this problem
  • Lazer!