Handbuilt wheels. Final Decision.

FatBobSlim
FatBobSlim Posts: 8
edited January 2014 in Road buying advice
I've been 'lurking' for a while now and picked up some great ideas for a new handbuilt set of wheels. I am 6ft, 85kg max and ride a mixture of solo and group rides averaging 40+miles a week and this year I would like to enter some sportives. The bike may occasionally be used for dry weather commutes. I'm looking for a reliable, lowish maintenance all round wheelset which will cover most bases. Below are my final options minus spoke count/type because that will depend on hubs and rims used but I have a good idea on which are suitable already. I would like to get some feedback on which of the below would suit my needs, or whether they would all be much of a muchness!

Also, rather sadly, I need to get some bike styling tips! I am not good at this kind of stuff! Assuming any of the below builds would suit my requirements, which of these combinations do you think would look best? My head says to stick with black hubs and rims, but something keeps drawing me to silver hubs and spokes, but are these best left to more retro builds?

The bike is a sky blue 2014 Cannondale CAAD8 105, like this one; [http://www.cannondale.com/nor/catalog/product/view/id/31897/s/caad8-5-105/category/916/] (sorry, this is my first post and I haven't worked out how to add an image yet!) The builds I am considering based on a max budget of £400 are these;

1. DT Swiss 350 hub on black Archetype or DT Swiss RR440 (not so worried about spoke colour on this build)
2. Miche Racing Box hub on black or dark grey Archetype or DT Swiss RR440 with silver spokes
3. Hope Mono RS in Silver on either the black or dark grey Archetype or DT Swiss RR440 with silver spokes

Any input re both the build itself and the slightly shallow, aesthetically oriented subject of how they will look on the bike would be gratefully received!
Cheers

Comments

• majormantra
    majormantra Posts: 2,094