How to Ensure Steam is Straight?

PoorInRichfield
PoorInRichfield Posts: 56
edited January 2014 in Workshop
Is there any fast and accurate way to make sure that a bike's stem is straight on the fork?

I've been biking for darn near 25+ years and have always used the "eyeball method" (I.e., just look at the stem and hope it's straight. If not, adjust and try again.) However, I've been playing around with the stem height on my new Domane and the "eyeball method" is getting annoying... I hate doing something over and over until it looks right, I'd rather just do it right the first time!

Seems like someone should've invented a tool by now to ensure the stem is straight so you don't have to waste time making micro adjustments, but I've never seen such a beast. Does it exist? Is there some other genius method that I'm not aware of?

Comments

• I'm sure someone has invented a tool for a problem that doesn't exist.

The problem with having a tool for setting a stem up so that it's perfectly straight is that we are all different and none of us have perfectly symmetrical bodies so the need for a tool that offers a 'one size its all' approach is instantly negated. As soon as you've set up your perfectly straight stem you'll have to adjust it to suit your needs but at least you'll have an expensive tool showing you how not to set up your stem in the future.

As long as it feels right for you is what matters, whether it looks right is pretty irrelevant.
  • shmooster
    shmooster Posts: 335
    Measure the distance from the wheel hub to the bar ends.
  • jermas
    jermas Posts: 484
    I find the easiest way is to not have the wheel in line with the frame. Turn the wheel and handlebars at an angle, then looking above the stem, line it up with the wheel. Being able to see both the front and rear section of the wheel makes it easier.
  • topdude
    topdude Posts: 1,557
    Loosen stem bolts
    Turn bike upside down
    Remove front wheel