New Commuter, Which Bike?

pabotto
pabotto Posts: 9
edited January 2014 in Commuting general
Hi all,
I am fairly new to cycling, last year I did a charity 150 mile weekend ride and got the bug. Unfortunately the only bike I had in the garage was a cheap muddy fox thing, I am 6ft and it was way to small for me and I ended up ruining my knee. For the ride I managed to borrow a Trek mountain bike with front suspension, I can't remember which one. which was a lot less painful (apart from the 150 miles!). Unfortunately it took a few months for my knees to recover after that so I have missed cycling, I want to get back in to it and use for my commute to work in Poole, it is about 15 miles each way, about 60% road and 40% trails/off road. I did it a few times training last year on the Trek bike and it was fine. I have been looking at hybrid bikes but in reality know nothing about what I need. I am looking for a cheap bike with disc brakes ideally and then forks with a lockout (or is this just a gimmick) as I think some suspension for the trails/off road might well be needed but I don't want suspension to slow me down on the roads.
I have a maximum budget of around £300.00 which limits me massively I know, I have seen some Claud Butler one, a DIAMONDBACK CONTRA FLOW 2012, and a felt one I think I saw. Any advice? I am happy to buy second hand and did like the Trek bike I borrowed but figure Trek will be too expensive for me.

Comments

• Keith1983
    Keith1983 Posts: 575
    If your budget is £300 then a used bike will potentially provide much better spec for the money. I have a Voodoo Hoodoo which has a reasonable fork which has lock out, the biggest chnage you could then make would be tyres.
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    I'd agree, any bike at that price with the added cost of a lockout will be poorly specced and probably have undamped forks making it nastier over bumpy stuff than a rigid forks.

2 choices as I see it