Replacing chain on triban 3 - how?

Teampi
Teampi Posts: 8
edited January 2014 in Road beginners
Hi folks and apologies if this is in the wrong section but I am a newb so I out it In the newb section :-)

I need to replace my chain on my triban 3 because it snapped on a bike ride recently. It's strange but I think the link has fallen out ass opposed to it snapping and I actually haven't done that many miles on it, in fact it's only done about 60 miles since it was last serviced (1yr old this month). I'm keen to get hands on With my bike but chains are completely I new territory for me.

So I was wondering whether I should :-

1. Take it back to decathlon for a repair and argue the toss
2. Get some links and salvage the old chain - if so then which. Ones? or
3. Buy a new one - if so, then what exactly am I looking for?

Thanks for reading

Comments

• Garryboy
    Garryboy Posts: 344
    Hey,
    It might be worth going back to decathlon, how many miles total have you done?
    If it's really low it could indicate that something in your set up I causing excessive wear or you aren't looking after it (cleaning / lubing regularly) or riding in big ring & big sprocket a lot.
    Either way, replacing a chain is a good skill to learn and pretty easy to do if you take your time. Have a look on the park tools or Sheldon brown website both have good tutorials. Also get right chain for your set up 8,9 or 10 speed. Prob also need a chain tool.

I use kmc quick links which make joining the chain really easy (also taking it off for cleaning)

Good luck!
  • keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123
    Assuming you're left with an inner link at each end I'd just buy a KMC quick link (or indeed one of Decathlon's own, which appear to be KMC anyway) and rejoin the chain.

Make sure you get the right one though. They come in 8 speed, 9 speed, 10 speed and 11 speed, and also Shimano / SRAM or Campagnolo types.