Garmin edge 800 or mio cyclo 505

frazered
frazered Posts: 333
edited April 2014 in Road buying advice
Toss up between the two. Mio far more modern and better internals with Bluetooth 4.0.

Edge 800 effectively left out in the cold by garmin as their focus (if you can call it that) has moved to the 810.

Mio 505 with HRM and cadence can be had for 209 from halfords with vouchers off plus cashback

Edge 800 was on at 209 but now looks to be 242 from PBK with a voucher.

http://www.satnav-discounts.co.uk/outdo ... prices.htm

Ta :-)

Comments

• I am completely new to this forum thing so don't know if this helps you. That said others have been very helpful to me so for what its worth here we go.
    I have been considering the same for the past 6 months it was MIO one day then Garmin the next. Basically after trawling days and nights I have come to the conclusion that it is the Garmin 800 for me, simply based on reviews, functionality and useability. It seems you can upload your own routes/maps aswell - sorry cant recollect the link. And albeit there seems to be more positive reviews for the Garmin than MIO which also got good reviews, I think it was the Strava that was doing it for me personally.
    And like you I missed the £209 price which is annoying me a little - well can't complain as I wasn't using this forum so I wasn't actively monitoring that site. Still frustrating though.
    Anyway rather than not get any response (as I did re a bike I really liked) thought I would just post a few lines. Anyway hope it helps a little :-)
  • frazered
    Chose the mio 505 as I managed to daisy chain some vouchers and get it for 190. Better on paper for everything just lesser known.

Will use and report back. :-)
  • frazered wrote:
    Chose the mio 505 as I managed to daisy chain some vouchers and get it for 190. Better on paper for everything just lesser known.

Well done, and good scoop too. :D