Clip on aero bars

dave milne
dave milne Posts: 703
edited January 2014 in Road buying advice
Hi,

am going to get some this year for a bit of tting. I have never ridden in a TT position before, is there anything I should consider before buying a pair?

Cheers

Comments

• Anyone? Last bump I promise
  • marcusjb
    marcusjb Posts: 2,412
    Just going through the process myself, so I am no expert - but here's what I found so far with a couple of months on them.

Getting the width, fore/aft and angle of the actual bars has been fairly straight-forwards. I have gone for ski-bend extensions for various comfort reasons (I can't imagine holding the position on a flat or S-bend extension for as long I will need to).

I dropped my whole handlebar setup by 15mm already - I may try lower.

Getting the saddle height and position has not been so straight forward. I am aiming for the 24hr TT, so whilst my experiences are probably on the extreme end of things, I am sure they are not uncommon. I suffered some pretty bad chafing on a 200km ride where I got to use the bars for some good long sessions.

So far, the saddle is around 3mm higher than it was before, and 5-6mm further forward.

I might try an in-line seatpost to get the saddle further forwards.

Other than the comfort issues, clearly your body takes some adapting to the new position - I've not had much pain in my back or anything, but the quads have felt a little ripped up with the slightly rotated hip position.

Takes some getting used to for sure. But the speed gains are there, even in miserable winter conditions.
  • supermurph09
    supermurph09 Posts: 2,471
    dave milne wrote:
    Hi,

am going to get some this year for a bit of tting. I have never ridden in a TT position before, is there anything I should consider before buying a pair?

Cheers