Trek and Campagnolo

PDSW
PDSW Posts: 14
edited August 2015 in Road buying advice
Hello everyone new poster here.I am relatively new to road cycling (3 years) my question is around why you don't seem to be able to buy Trek bikes with Campagnolo gearing.Is this a technical/practical issue?Or just image?
I got into cycling with a Wilier Escape with Xenon gearing and cycling became a serious hobby and decided to do a couple of sportives. I bought a first carbon bike Trek Madone 3.1 Series with 105.I loved the frame/ride but just could not get on with the 105 gears so I changed back to a Wilier Izoard with Veloce which to be honest I am very happy with and has never let me down.
But I did like the Madone and have considered buying another and trying to get Campagnolo fitted.I asked the guy in the LBS and he looked at me like I was odd (maybe I am)!
I cant quite make up my mind whether to just park the idea and upgrade my Wilier.
Any thoughts/comments/information appreciated.
Thanks for your help.

Comments

• mfin
    mfin Posts: 6,729
    There's nothing wrong with doing it, it's just image, Trek are American as you can get, Campagnolo is Italian as you can get. Nothing wrong with 'punking things up'.
  • alihisgreat
    alihisgreat Posts: 3,872
    equipment-4007.jpg
    trekdomane_green_600.jpg

Nothing wrong with it!
  • neeb
    neeb Posts: 4,471
    Buy the frameset? Or buy a Madone, sell the fitted groupset unused on ebay, and buy the campagnolo groupset?
  • crankycrank
    crankycrank Posts: 1,830
    PDSW wrote:
    But I did like the Madone and have considered buying another and trying to get Campagnolo fitted.I asked the guy in the LBS and he looked at me like I was odd (maybe I am)!