Hybrid Choice £500 -£600

martindocherty
martindocherty Posts: 5
edited January 2014 in Road buying advice
I have been cycling semi seriously for 2 years on a heavy old Diamondback mountain bike, and now I have decided to take the plunge and buy something a bit more expensive.

I tend to ride mostly on tarmac but I often ride along Blackpool promenade which in parts gets a little bit bumpy and sandy. I also like to do the occasional bridal path type off road such as the Preston Guild wheel so I think that a hybrid is the best choice for me.

My budget is around the 500-600 mark and i have found a couple of bikes that caught my eye. I am in no way an expert though and I would love to get some feedback from you guys on here as £600 is a fairly big chunk of cash to squander.

The two bikes I have narrowed in on are:
Scott Sub Speed 30 2014 Hybrid Bike--http://www.evanscycles.com/products/scott/sub-speed-30-2014-hybrid-bike-ec056055#features

and
Boardman MX Comp Bike 2014 --http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_10001_catalogId_10151_productId_992090_langId_-1_categoryId_165534#tab1

As I said though I actually have very little clue on specifics of bike components and I am very open to alternatives and advice.
One thing i should add is i am quite a heavy guy so that may or may not influence my choices.

Thanks in advance for any feedback.

Comments

• well if you go for the Scott you may want a paper bag over your head, im 17 and that colour does not appeal to me in the slightest so god knows who that is aimed at! it also means dirt, scratched and oil marks show up more and finally it stands out more which if you leave your bike locked up you don't really want!

The 2013 boardman was a lovely bike they seem to have gone for a glitzier colour scheme this year and they have downgraded the spec i believe.