Allez or F95?

dden
dden Posts: 5
edited January 2014 in Road buying advice
Hi,

I am a complete beginner and need qualified advice. Being now too old for competitive swimming, I decided to join the triathletes - primarily for fun.

I am looking for a solid training and (olympic distance) competition bike, without having to splash out a fortune - at least not initially. I read many reviews, comparisons and tried to get behind the details. Many of the guides I red recommended the Specialized Allez (http://www.evanscycles.com/products/spe ... e-ec040963) which seems a good value for money. I was about to order one, but then saw the Felt F95 (http://www.wiggle.co.uk/felt-f95-sora-wiggle-exclusive). At its carbon fork and the Sora components, it seems a better deal than the Specialized.

Which you still recommend the Allez? If so, why? A quick hint/help/explanation would be much appreciated.

Many thanks in advance.

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    I would say easily the Felt out of those two.
    Much better spec and cheaper.

You sound like you are planning your second bike before buying your first though.
    Your intended use sounds quite committed and I would say spending more now will be better in the long run.

Maybe 10 speed rather than the 8/9.

Were you planning on getting the Specialized from Evans Cycles? You could test ride a few bikes there.
  • slowbike
    slowbike Posts: 8,498
    IMO, if you want a "cheap" training bike then you may be better off getting a second hand bike.
    Quite a few come up in the classifieds on this site and many others.

I'm not sure either of those bikes would class as "competition" bikes - I have an Allez (2011 with carbon forks and it's for sale!) which whilst it's absolutely fine, it's just not as responsive as my Tarmac. As they are the same geometry I know it's not that. The other differences are the wheels, groupset (105 instead of 2300) and the obvious - the Tarmac is carbon.